When I was Little

When I was little, I used to walk around the house with the phone, or a pretend phone, (which ever was more available to me) and do an impression of Sybil, from Fawlty Towers. ‘Oh! I know’. It made people laugh. As I got older I then moved on to impersonating the lady from the 90’s Philadelphia advert. Realising I was developing a similar toned voice, just not as squeaky. (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=raTSA6tFLoE)

I went through stages of wanting to be a weather girl when I was little. I would draw a picture of what I thought England looked like, (we lived in Germany at the time and England seemed a very strange and distant land) and give in-depth weather reports to a very interested and attentive audience of stuffed animals. I went through stages of wanting to be a librarian, a teacher and then a writer. When I was little.

I had bouts of meanness and kindness when I was little. I had times of fear and times of dreams, of real make-believe. A make-believe my parents always encouraged and indulged. Many a packed lunch was made for trips to India, and for when I had fallen down rabbit holes.

I had a bag packed full of dressing up clothes in my mothers old sewing bag, hidden under my bed. In case the circus came to town and I would have to leave suddenly with them. Adventures happened when I was little.

We traveled when I was little. I made friends and said goodbye to friends. I learnt how to make someone feel welcomed, and what it felt like to be an outsider. Even if just for a day. I learnt that my imagination would save me. When I was little.

I had a beautiful black typewriter when I was little. First words and stories were written on those keys, at a desk decorated with shiny stickers.

I played a game of travelers when I was little. I was traveling in a gypsy caravan with a troupe of magical people. I was afraid of the dark and those pretend friends and worlds saw me safely through till morning. When I was little.

When I was little, I didn’t want to grow up. I liked being in my world. I liked the places I could go and the people I could meet. A girl Peter Pan, I never wanted to be Tinkerbell or Wendy darling.

Now I am older, there is still a part of me that is forever in a time, when I was little.

x

About Rebecca Windsor

I'm an actor and writer living in London. View all posts by Rebecca Windsor

Leave a Reply

